Who Needs to Make Their Website Accessible?

Numerous countries across the globe have instituted legislation requiring websites to be accessible. Some are industry specific, such as the United States’ Air Carrier Access Act, which requires all air carriers operating flights within the US to make their sites accessible. Others are much broader, such as Israel’s Standard #5568, which requires all websites and applications that provide a service and/or information to the public be accessible to individuals with disabilities.

Below is a list of countries that have implemented legislation tied to web accessibility. This list is non-exhaustive as countries are constantly modifying/adding accessibility legislation, but we will try to keep this page as up to date as possible.

Before continuing, it should be noted that merely relying on legal directives to determine whether to make your site accessible is short-sighted. Providing accessible online content benefits all your visitors, not only those with disabilities. From a marketing perspective, the disabled community comprises a significant portion of the global market—ignoring this segment of the population is closing yourself off from a valuable customer base. Accessibility also benefits older internet users and mobile users, and also improves your organization’s search engine optimization efforts.

Countries with existing web accessibility legislation/requirements:


  • Hong Kong
  • Japan
  • India
  • Singapore
  • Israel



North America

South America